Muse Chapter 1 Page 2

Oof! This page was a bit of a doozy.

So this first set of 6 pages were started years ago – and were actually one of the first times that I started to experiment with washes a bit more than in the past. The result is that the rough pages are a bit of a disaster, especially since I decided to put down the various grey washes before pencilling ANYTHING ELSE. Lesson learned – that was a terrible idea.

On the up-side, I’m really loving the way these pages are coming together – the TV narration is really fun to write. And I love having the text interlacing a bit. This opening is probably one of my favorite things I’ve ever done in comics form, at least so far. The next page is a really fun Wayne and Molly in the kitchen scene.

And in case you don’t know me that well – each of these female characters are going to be ass-kicking-characters, even the ghost herself. Molly, in particular, is probably my favorite bad-ass in this story, though she’s got a while to get there. So, though her first words are “Wayne, I don’t know what to do now,”  I’m going to flip that damsel in distress trope on its butt.

Sidenote: You will soon learn that Wayne’s full name is John Wayne Takahara – yep, his Japanese dad was a huge Western film fan.

Keep an eye out for the report back from CAKE 2014, Battle #3, and the next chapter in Sadie Hawkins today or tomorrow – as well as some character posters for the members of M.U.S.E. as it occurs to me that that would be both fun, easy, and helpful for readers. Let me know if you’d like to see them sooner rather than later in the Comments below!

In the mean time, page 2 of M.U.S.E. for your viewing pleasure:

Muse 2

Leave a Reply

